History of the Heidberg convent

1698

The mayor of Liège, Theodor Goer de Herve asked Charles II, King of Spain, for permission to establish a convent in Eupen for the nuns of the Order of Recollects. The king gave his permission under the condition that a public school for girls should been built as well.

1700

The nuns bought a meadow on the Heidberg to build the church and the convent here. Friars of the Franciscan Order from Flanders started the building. Because of lacking financial means, the planned premises could only be built little by little. The cloistral annals report that each wall, each cellar vault, each channel was added bit by bit, very hesitantly. At that time, the nuns lived in great poverty; again and again, they had to sell or mortgage silver church objects to make their living. The North wing was built in 1701, the East wing in 1722 and the West wing in 1727. During this period of the convent history, the nuns only taught daughters of rich families. They taught them how to read, write, count and sew.

1740

In the night to May 1st 1740, the nuns fell victim to a predatory attack by the so-called “buck riders”. One of the nuns could flee from the robbers, climbed up the belfry and hammered on the church bell. The gang fled, abandoning all the stolen goods they had been able to gather together until then.
In the following years, the nuns repeatedly suffered setbacks. Not much is known about the period of the French Revolution. Only that the nuns adamantly fought for the right to stay living in the convent in order to continue teaching the youth. It is only because they not only taught the children of well-faring citizens, but also in the primary school that the nuns were authorized to stay in the convent. But they had to refrain from every cloistral activity and from wearing any clothing but secular clothing.

1815

After 18 years, the nuns were again permitted to wear their habit. The convent reports of great success as many youngsters joined the order. At that time, the convent experienced a real upswing. The boarding school was extended.

1828

A Sunday school as well as a sewing and knitting school is opened.

1854

First stone laying of the Gothic style Sacred Heart Church on the Heidberg as South wing, instead of the provisory chapel from 1724, which was housed in the East wing, then transformed to the sacristy.

1913

Start of construction of the new school premises.

1918

In April 1918, the convent is officially recognized as a public secondary school with ten classes.

1937

Opening of the newly built kindergarten.

1963

The city of Eupen builds an additional school building.

1968

Construction of the big gymnasium.

1986

First stone laying of the new kindergarten, after the old one was destroyed by a storm in 1984.

1988

Opening of the new kindergarten.

1996

Merger between the “Heidberg Institut” and the “Collège Patronné”. Henceforth, the school is called “Pater-Damian-Schule”.

2001

A feasibility study is ordered to transform the convent into a meeting center.

2007

The Heidberg convent is acquired by the government of the German-speaking Community for one symbolic euro on grounds of cultural heritage preservation of this historical building.

2008

The convent is listed as one of the community center of the German-speaking Community (service with separate management).

2010

Fire in the convent chapel.

2012

In May 2012, the renovations start.

2014

In September 2014, the seminar and event center Kloster Heidberg, as we know it nowadays, opens its doors.

Bildergalerie

Geschichte Kloster Heidberg

1698

Der Lütticher Bürgermeister Theodor Goer de Herve stellte eine Anfrage an König Karl II. von Spanien zwecks Gründung eines Klosters in Eupen für die Schwestern des Rekollektinnenordens. Der König erteilte die Genehmigung unter der Bedingung, dass dort eine öffentliche Schule für Mädchen eingerichtet wird.

1700

kauften die Schwestern eine Wiese auf dem Heidberg, um dort die Kirche und das Kloster zu erbauen. Brüder des Franziskanerordens aus Flandern begannen mit dem Bau. Auf Grund der fehlenden finanziellen Mittel konnten die geplanten Gebäude nur nach und nach errichtet werden.  Die klösterlichen Jahrbücher erzählen, wie ganz zögerlich jede Mauer, jedes Kellergewölbe, jeder Kanal nach und nach angebaut wurde. Die Schwestern lebten zu dieser Zeit in großer Armut und mussten immer wieder silberne Kirchengegenstände verkaufen oder verpfänden, um Ihren Lebensunterhalt zu sichern. Der Nordflügel stammt aus dem Jahr 1701, der Ostflügel aus dem Jahr 1722, der Westflügel aus dem Jahr 1727. In dieser Phase des Klosters unterrichteten die Schwestern nur Töchter aus reichem Hause. Gelehrt wurden Lesen, Schreiben, Rechnen und Nähen.

1740

In der Nacht zum 1. Mai 1740 wurden  die Schwestern  Opfer  eines räuberischen Überfalls der sogenannten „Bockreiter“.  Eine Schwester konnte vor den Räubern fliehen, stieg auf den Glockenturm und schlug mit einem Hammer die Kirchenglocke. Daraufhin flüchtete die Bande und ließ sämtliches Diebesgut, das sie bis dahin zusammengetragen hatte, zurück.

In den folgenden Jahren hatten die Schwestern immer wieder mit Rückschlägen zu kämpfen.  Über die Zeit der Französischen Revolution ist nur wenig bekannt. Nur so viel, dass die Schwestern eisern darum kämpften, im Kloster wohnen bleiben zu dürfen um die Jugend weiter zu unterrichten. Es ist allein der Tatsache, dass sie nicht nur die Kinder wohlhabender Bürger unterrichteten, sondern auch Volksschulunterricht gaben, zu verdanken, dass die Schwestern im Kloster bleiben durften. Allerdings mussten sie sämtliches klösterliches Handeln und Tun unterlassen und durften nur weltliche Kleidung tragen. Als sogenanntes Fraueninstitut blieb man im Besitz von Kloster und Schule.

1815

Nach 18 Jahren durften die Schwestern wieder ihre Ordensgewänder tragen. Das Kloster berichtet über großen Zulauf. Viele Novizinnen traten dem Orden bei. Zu dieser Zeit erlebte das Kloster einen echten Aufschwung. Das Pensionat wurde erweitert.

1828

wurden eine Sonntagsschule, sowie eine Näh- und Strickschule eingerichtet.

1854

Grundsteinlegung der neugotischen Herz-Jesu-Kirche als Südflügel, anstelle der provisorischen Kapelle, die seit 1724 im Ostflügel untergebracht war und zur Sakristei umgewandelt wurde.

1913

Baubeginn eines neuen Schulgebäudes.

1918

Im April 1918 erhielt das Kloster die staatliche Anerkennung als zehnklassiges Lyzeum.

1937

Eröffnung des neu gebauten Kindergartens.

1963

Die Stadt Eupen baut ein zusätzliches Schulgebäude.

1968

Bau der großen Turnhalle.

1986

Grundsteinlegung des neuen Kindergartens, nachdem das alte Kindergartengebäude 1984 durch einen Sturm verwüstet wurde.

1988

Eröffnung des neuen Kindergartens.

1996

Fusion zwischen dem Heidberg-Institut und dem Collège Patronné. Fortan hieß die Schule „Pater-Damian-Schule“.

2001

Es wurde eine Machbarkeitsstudie in Auftrag gegeben, um aus dem Kloster ein Bildungszentrum zu machen.

2007

Das Kloster Heidberg geht für einen symbolischen Euro in den Besitz der Regierung der Deutschsprachigen Gemeinschaft über, um der Denkmalpflege dieses geschichtsträchtigen Gebäudes gerecht zu werden.

2008

Das Kloster wird unter die DgG Gemeinschaftszentren eingetragen (Dienststelle mit getrennter Geschäftsführung).

2010

Brand in der Kapelle des Klosters.

2012

Im Mai 2012 begannen die Umbauarbeiten.

2014

Im September 2014 wurde das Seminar- und Eventzentrum Kloster Heidberg, wie man es heute kennt, eröffnet.

Bildergalerie