History of the Heidberg convent

1698

The mayor of Liège, Theodor Goer de Herve asked Charles II, King of Spain, for permission to establish a convent in Eupen for the nuns of the Order of Recollects. The king gave his permission under the condition that a public school for girls should been built as well.

1700

The nuns bought a meadow on the Heidberg to build the church and the convent here. Friars of the Franciscan Order from Flanders started the building. Because of lacking financial means, the planned premises could only be built little by little. The cloistral annals report that each wall, each cellar vault, each channel was added bit by bit, very hesitantly. At that time, the nuns lived in great poverty; again and again, they had to sell or mortgage silver church objects to make their living. The North wing was built in 1701, the East wing in 1722 and the West wing in 1727. During this period of the convent history, the nuns only taught daughters of rich families. They taught them how to read, write, count and sew.

1740

In the night to May 1st 1740, the nuns fell victim to a predatory attack by the so-called “buck riders”. One of the nuns could flee from the robbers, climbed up the belfry and hammered on the church bell. The gang fled, abandoning all the stolen goods they had been able to gather together until then.
In the following years, the nuns repeatedly suffered setbacks. Not much is known about the period of the French Revolution. Only that the nuns adamantly fought for the right to stay living in the convent in order to continue teaching the youth. It is only because they not only taught the children of well-faring citizens, but also in the primary school that the nuns were authorized to stay in the convent. But they had to refrain from every cloistral activity and from wearing any clothing but secular clothing.

1815

After 18 years, the nuns were again permitted to wear their habit. The convent reports of great success as many youngsters joined the order. At that time, the convent experienced a real upswing. The boarding school was extended.

1828

A Sunday school as well as a sewing and knitting school is opened.

1854

First stone laying of the Gothic style Sacred Heart Church on the Heidberg as South wing, instead of the provisory chapel from 1724, which was housed in the East wing, then transformed to the sacristy.

1913

Start of construction of the new school premises.

1918

In April 1918, the convent is officially recognized as a public secondary school with ten classes.

1937

Opening of the newly built kindergarten.

1963

The city of Eupen builds an additional school building.

1968

Construction of the big gymnasium.

1986

First stone laying of the new kindergarten, after the old one was destroyed by a storm in 1984.

1988

Opening of the new kindergarten.

1996

Merger between the “Heidberg Institut” and the “Collège Patronné”. Henceforth, the school is called “Pater-Damian-Schule”.

2001

A feasibility study is ordered to transform the convent into a meeting center.

2007

The Heidberg convent is acquired by the government of the German-speaking Community for one symbolic euro on grounds of cultural heritage preservation of this historical building.

2008

The convent is listed as one of the community center of the German-speaking Community (service with separate management).

2010

Fire in the convent chapel.

2012

In May 2012, the renovations start.

2014

In September 2014, the seminar and event center Kloster Heidberg, as we know it nowadays, opens its doors.

Bildergalerie

L’histoire du couvent du Heidberg

1698

Le bourgmestre de Liège, Théodor Goer de Herve, demande au roi Charles II d’Espagne la permission de fonder un couvent à Eupen pour les sœurs de l’ordre des Récollets. Le roi donne la permission à condition que soit ouverte une école publique pour jeunes filles.

1700

Les sœurs achètent un pré au Heidberg pour y construire l’église et le couvent. Des frères de l’ordre des Franciscains de Flandre entament la construction. En raison du manque de moyens financiers, les bâtiments projetés ont dû être érigés petit à petit. Les annales du couvent racontent que la construction, de chaque mur, de chaque voûte de cave, de chaque canal a demandé beaucoup de temps. A l’époque, les sœurs vivaient dans une misère noire : elles devaient régulièrement vendre ou gager des objets ecclésiastiques en argent pour pouvoir subvenir à leurs besoins. L’aile nord fût construit en 1701, l’aile est en 1722 et l’aile ouest en 1727. Pendant cette période, les sœurs donnaient des cours aux filles des familles aisées. Elles enseignaient la lecture, l’écriture, le calcul et la couture.

1740

Dans la nuit du 30 avril au 1er mai 1740, les sœurs sont victimes d’une attaque d’une bande de brigands, appelés « chevaucheurs de boucs ». Une des sœurs parvint à échapper aux voleurs et à escalader le clocher, puis à frapper les cloches avec un marteau. Les voleurs s’enfuirent, laissant derrière eux l’ensemble du butin qu’ils avaient réussi à rassembler jusque-là.
Dans les années qui suivirent, les sœurs ont régulièrement subi des coups du sort. L’époque de la Révolution française est peu documentée. Tout ce que l’on sait, c’est que les sœurs se sont battues avec acharnement pour pouvoir rester au couvent, afin de continuer à instruire les jeunes. C’est parce qu’elles ne donnèrent pas uniquement cours aux enfants de citoyens fortunés, mais aussi aux enfants de la classe populaire que les sœurs ont pu rester au couvent. Elles ont néanmoins dû cesser toute activité claustrale et ne pouvaient porter que des vêtements séculiers. Elles sont toutefois restées propriétaires du couvent et de l’école, à titre d’établissement pour femmes.

1815

Après 18 ans, les sœurs peuvent à nouveau porter les habits de leur ordre. Le couvent fait état d’une grande affluence, et beaucoup de jeunes rejoignent l’ordre. A cette époque, le couvent vit une véritable renaissance. Le pensionnat est agrandi.

1828

Création d’une école du dimanche ainsi que d’une école de couture et de tricotage.

1854

Pose de la première pierre, de l’Église du Sacré Cœur sur le Heidberg, dans le style gothique et comme aile sud, à la place de la chapelle provisoire qui se trouvait dans l’aile est depuis 1724, ensuite transformée en sacristie.

1913

Début de la construction d’un nouveau bâtiment scolaire.

1918

En avril 1918, le couvent est reconnu par l’État comme lycée à dix classes.

1937

Ouverture de l’école maternelle, nouvellement construite.

1963

La ville d’Eupen érige un bâtiment scolaire supplémentaire.

1968

Construction de la grande salle de gymnastique.

1986

Pose de la première pierre de la nouvelle école maternelle, l’ancien bâtiment abritant l'école maternelle ayant été ravagé par une tempête.

1988

Ouverture de la nouvelle école maternelle.

1996

Fusion entre le « Heidberginstitut » et le Collège Patronné. Depuis lors, l’école s’appelle « Pater Damian Schule » (École du Père Damien).

2001

Lancement d’une étude de faisabilité pour transformer le couvent en un centre de formation.

2007

Le couvent du Heidberg devient la propriété du gouvernement de la Communauté Germanophone pour un euro symbolique, mieux à même d’assurer la protection de ce bâtiment historique.

2008

Le couvent est inscrit sur la liste des centres communautaires (services à gestion séparée).

2010

Incendie dans la chapelle du couvent.

2012

Début des travaux de transformation en mai 2012.

2014

En septembre 2014, le centre de séminaire et d’évènement Kloster Heidberg, comme on le connaît aujourd’hui, ouvre ses portes.

Bildergalerie